"Confirm Save" when Making Changes to Existing Event Forms
If you make a change to an Event Form on the Events Page in the Form Builder you will now be asked to confirm the save. The image here shows two changes being made.
This form has existing data entered for it on the application (main site).
Two changes are being made to this Event Form:
#1: The Surgery Required has had a new option added to it. This is safe to do because you are not overwriting any of the existing options.
#2: The Field Name "Surgery Details" has been changed to "Surgery Description" on the Event Form Builder. This will cause data loss on the system because the "Migrate Field" option was not used. If a field name is changed on the Event Form (and there is data entered on the main application) then the data on the application loses the link with the previous Field name (NEVER DO THIS IN PRACTICE, this is just for demonstration purposes).
Click on the Save button to save the Event Form and you will now see that there is a confirm save button that also has to be clicked before the changes to the Event Form can be applied on the system.
When you make any changes to an event form, you will now ALWAYS be shown the Save Confirmation Message. Most messages will only contain the Save Record confirmation. However, you can see here that warnings have appeared in this Save Confirmation Message
#1: The Confirmation Message to save the changes will always appear as a safe guard against data loss.
#2: Warning have also appeared in this Save Confirmation Message because the Field Surgery Details was renamed without using the Migrate Field feature. This Warning tells the user that data loss will occur for all of the data for the Surgery Details field if they click on the Confirm Save button.
To Save the changes that you have made to your Event Form, click on the "Confirm Save" button and the changes will be applied.
However, the image in the step above shows that data will be lost of you click "Confirm Save" and you would Cancel the save (as shown in the image in the step below)
The image in the step above had a detailed message that data loss would occur if the changes were continued with. If you ever see a warning message like this, DO NOT click on the Confirm save button, see the step below and cancel the confirm save.
If you are not going to lose data and there are no warnings that you need to be aware of, then click on "Confirm Save".
In the example here, you would NOT click on the Confirm Save because the Surgery Details was renamed without using the correct migrate field workflow. This will cause data loss in a lot of records. You would Cancel the Confirm Save immediately if you saw any Warnings like this.
If you have changed the name of an existing field or an existing option in a field (this means you have renamed an existing option, not added a new one in) in an Event Form, and you have NOT used the migrate field/options on the Event Form List Page, you would click the red Cancel X in the Save Confirmation Message box (top right). Then it would be best practice to cancel the changes to the actual Event Form (as shown in the image in the step below) and then start your changes again.
If you are going to lose data, the safest option is to Cancel the Form and any changes you have made to it.
If you have changed a field name without using the "Migrate Field" option then you should Cancel all of the changes to the form. This will mean you will have to redo any changes you made, but ensuring data security and integrity takes priority. If you try and rename the field name back to the original you could spell it wrong or use the wrong letter case and the data could still be lost (e.g. you rename it to Surgery details and the original was Surgery Details, this will cause data loss). If you are changing a field name or existing field options Cancel the Event Form changes and use the migrate field feature (shown in the image in the step below).