Delete All Time Issues: Important Information about the Delete All process when deleting over 200 records at once

It is critical that all users who regularly delete a lot of variables at once understand the deletion process:

When each record is deleted a number of steps are completed:

  • The server loads each individual record in it's entirety; each field, calculation, historical calculation, linked profile field, linked data field, and any filters on each field are all loaded on the server.
  • It checks that the person deleting the record has access to delete the record (e.g. the Delete All module and delete permissions for the Event Form)
  • Then it checks that you have access to each user that you are deleting the record for, through the Groups and SubGroups
  • It then creates a NEW record and inserts it into your system as a "Deletion Revision". This Deletion Revision is stored on the server so that there is a back up incase the deletion is accidental and has to be reversed. It also informs us who deleted the record and when.
  • Then the software removes the record from the system for anyone with access to it.

Therefore, the time taken to do all of these steps is dependent on the number of fields in the form and number of records that are selected to delete. The more the Event form fields and athletes, the longer the process.

Moreover, a timeout error was occurring after 5 minutes of deleteion, and was causing issues for some users. This timeout error message is outlined below.

You can delete multiple records a once. However, this does take time depending on the size of the Form and the number of records

You can delete multiple records a once. However, this does take time depending on the size of the Form and the number of records

As mentioned above, the size of the Event Form, and the number of records that are being deleted affects the speed that this can be completed. For this example, 1000 records will be deleted at once.

When the Delete All button is clicked, the system has to go through and complete all of the deletion steps outlined above.

The loading icon will appear

The loading icon will appear

If the deletion occurs in under 5 minutes, additional records will load for you to delete. Continue to delete records until you see the following message

If the deletion occurs in under 5 minutes, additional records will load for you to delete. Continue to delete records until you see the following message

If the deletion takes longer than 5 minutes a time out error occurs. However, the records ARE STILL being deleted in the background. JUST click on the red screen to close this message

If the deletion takes longer than 5 minutes a time out error occurs. However, the records ARE STILL being deleted in the background. JUST click on the red screen to close this message

If you had 1000 records selected to delete, these deletions will STILL be happening on the server.

The red screen will disappear and it will look as though nothing has happened. But, the records are actually being deleted on the server.

The red screen will disappear and it will look as though nothing has happened. But, the records are actually being deleted on the server.

You don't need to refresh your system or select a lower number of records to include in the reports, simply click and Run the Report again (as shown in the image in the step below).

The Report will still be set up. Simply click Run Report Again, wait for it to load any un-deleted records, then click on the Delete All button again

The Report will still be set up. Simply click Run Report Again, wait for it to load any un-deleted records, then click on the Delete All button again

Ideally, set the report to include the largest number of records, and EXPECT to get the Error Contacting Server message. Wait an appropriate length of time and then re-run the report

Ideally, set the report to include the largest number of records, and EXPECT to get the Error Contacting Server message. Wait an appropriate length of time and then re-run the report

We apologise for any frustration that the length of deletion time, and the time out message, has caused some users. We hope you understand the need to balance maintaining a log of records, with a longer deletion processes

Lastly, if you know in advance that you want to delete all records for all users, then you can e-mail your Distributors and ask them to arrange it. This can be done by a computer programmer, but it will mean that the entire log for the record is removed from the system.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment