Merging duplicate users

Duplicate users can occur on systems, regardless of whether they are set up in a parent-child or shared user server. This is an issue because data might be being entered by a coach for the original user, and by a different coach for the duplicate user. Previously, the data from a duplicate athlete would have to be found on the main system and then manually copied from the duplicate to the original athlete. Then, the duplicate user would have to be deleted; there was no a way to combine the data between duplicates.

Merging functionality is now available to Full Administrators (not Team Admins), please note:

  • For parent-child sites, a child user who is NOT linked to a parent can be merged with a parent user. However, on a child site, only users that exist on the child sites can be merged.
  • When users are merged, the Duplicates' Event data will ALL be assigned to the original, and the original will also be added to any performance alerts, groups, roles etc that the duplicate may have been set up in.
  • Because duplicate Profile or Account data cannot be assigned to the original, any data entered for the duplicate will be deleted.

DO NOT MERGE ATHLETES UNLESS YOU ARE CONFIDENT THAT ALL OFFLINE DATA HAS BEEN SYNCHRONISED FOR THE DUPLICATE USER. IF DATA HAS BEEN ENTERED OFFLINE, AND IT HASN'T SYNCHRONISED, YOU WILL DELETE THE DUPLICATES' DATA PERMANENTLY

On the People page a Merge feature is available

The merge functionality allows you to select the Actual Athlete (user) and the Duplicate Athlete (user) which will be Merged

The merge functionality allows you to select the Actual Athlete (user) and the Duplicate Athlete (user) which will be Merged

Select the Original and the Duplicate (who will be deleted).

Search for the user by typing into the Search Box

Search for the user by typing into the Search Box

When users are selected, all of the user's details will be displayed

N.B. In this example we are merging a duplicate user who was set up on a child site, but is NOT linked to the parent site

If available, Uuid will ALSO appear in the drop down list, and can be used to select the users to merge

If available, Uuid will ALSO appear in the drop down list, and can be used to select the users to merge

The Smartabase ID or the Organisation ID will also appear in the list for users to select. Type in the Uuid and the corresponding user will appear.

Next, investigate the data entered for both users and ensure you are merging the correct users. In this example, they both have data entered for them

The Data Entered for User represents the amount of entries that have been made for them , including draft entries. When the merge occurs, the Data from the duplicate will be assigned to the original user.

See whether data has been entered by them. In this example, neither user has entered data for other users (which may indicate they are both athletes)

See whether data has been entered by them. In this example, neither user has entered data for other users (which may indicate they are both athletes)

Data Entered by User represents data that they have entered for other users , for example in a coach capacity. These two users have no data for other.

Check the Permissions to ensure you know where the original user will be copied to. For this example, there is a difference in the Groups and the Roles the original and the duplicate users are in depending on the site

Check the Permissions to ensure you know where the original user will be copied to. For this example, there is a difference in the Groups and the Roles the original and the duplicate users are in depending on the site

Permissions for User displays the Groups and Roles that the user is in, and the Site/s that these permissions exist in. When the merge occurs, the permissions from the duplicate will be assigned to the original user.

In this example, users are being merged across a parent and a child site, so once merged, the original user will be added to the permissions on the child site.

When you are 100% confident that you are merging the correct users, click Merge

When you are 100% confident that you are merging the correct users, click Merge

Confirm that you wish to merge the users. This CANNOT be undone!

Confirm that you wish to merge the users. This CANNOT be undone!

N.B. Once OK is selected, the duplicate will be PERMANENTLY deleted from the system. This CANNOT be reversed.

Once Merge is selected, confirmation will appear, and the duplicate will be PERMANENTLY deleted from the system

The original and the duplicate will be merged. This means the original user NOW has all of the duplicates' data, roles etc.

The original and the duplicate will be merged. This means the original user NOW has all of the duplicates' data, roles etc.

The entries are assigned to the original user

The entries are assigned to the original user

Resources are assigned to the original user

Resources are assigned to the original user

Performance Alerts are assigned to the original

Performance Alerts are assigned to the original

Profile pages will ONLY be assigned to the original as long as the original user didn't have any existing Profile forms entered

Profile pages will ONLY be assigned to the original as long as the original user didn't have any existing Profile forms entered

Keep in mind that reports may need to be set up to include the original user's name

Keep in mind that reports may need to be set up to include the original user's name

Reports based specifically using an Athlete's name will need to be reset; this is because the report is specifically linked specifically to the name. However, if a report was set up using a group, and the any

N.B. Because front page reports do not use selected athletes as a filter these should not be affected

Yearly Plans are NOT assigned to the original user. They will need to be reassigned manually.

Yearly Plans are NOT assigned to the original user. They will need to be reassigned manually.

Training Blocks previously applied to the duplicate will not appear, BUT the data scheduled as part of a training block will appear

Before a Migration you MUST ensure that all OFFLINE data has been synchronised for the user being merged

Data entered offline after the merge occurred, but the user had not logged in online to ensure the name had updated.

N.B. If you are merging user with the same record type (e.g., a weekly monitoring form) and the form uses historical calculations, you will need to resave the data to get the historical calculations to recalculate.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment