Parent-Child site global visibility of users on the Administration Site

To reduce the number of duplicates and to enhance visibility between the users that are on Parent and Child sites, a new sharing structure has been developed.

All users that are added to any parent or child sites are visible throughout each site. This means that before any new user is added to a site, an Administrator or Team Administrator can perform a search on the People page to check that the user doesn't already exist on one of the shared sites. Please see the details below to understand how the visibility works.

N.B. To link any user between a parent and a child site (so that data flows between the sites for the athlete) the standard import method needs to be used.

To reduce duplicate athletes on Parent and Child sites, all users on a parent and child site are now visible on all sites. This does NOT mean they are linked; they appear to enhance searching capabilities and to reduce duplicates

This means, if you type in the name of a user on a child or a parent site, you can see if the user exists. If they do, but they are not linked to your site, ask the Administrator for permission to add this user to your system

This means, if you type in the name of a user on a child or a parent site, you can see if the user exists. If they do, but they are not linked to your site, ask the Administrator for permission to add this user to your system

In the example here, an Administrator searches to see if Samantha Smith exists on the system. The Admin sees that they exist on the Test site, but not on the Child site. They can now contact the Test site Admin and ask for this user to be linked to the child site.

To further understand how visibility works, see the steps below:

If a new user is entered on the Parent Site, this user is then visible on any child sites.

If a new user is entered on the Parent Site, this user is then visible on any child sites.

The user is visible on all child sites, but they are locked, so cannot be opened or edited.

The user is visible on all child sites, but they are locked, so cannot be opened or edited.

Other child sites that are linked to the parent will also show this user

Other child sites that are linked to the parent will also show this user

The user can be opened on the child sites, but the details cannot be edited

The user can be opened on the child sites, but the details cannot be edited

If a new user is entered on a Child site, they are automatically visible on the Parent site and on other child sites

If a new user is entered on a Child site, they are automatically visible on the Parent site and on other child sites

The example here shows a new user being added to the Child 2 site

The new child user is visible on other child sites, but they are not editable

The new child user is visible on other child sites, but they are not editable

The new user is visible on the Parent Site. The user's details are editable, but they cannot be added to groups or roles, and they cannot be deleted

The new user is visible on the Parent Site. The user's details are editable, but they cannot be added to groups or roles, and they cannot be deleted

For any new users added to a child site, their data is available to edit on the parent site. However, they cannot be added to roles or groups on the Parent Site and the cannot be deleted either. If the user needs to be linked to the Parent site, this is done via the standard import workflows.

Team Administrators will have the same permission to view/search for user across sites

Team Administrators will have the same permission to view/search for user across sites

To reduce duplicates, the Team Administrators will also have access to view all users across all sites.

An example of a Team Admin on a Child site viewing all users

N.B. To link any user between a parent and a child site (so that data flows between the sites for the athlete) the standard import method needs to be used

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment